BORN TO BE

Streaming Cinema

BORN TO BE follows the work of Dr. Jess Ting, a plastic surgeon at the groundbreaking Mount Sinai Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery in New York City—where, for the first time ever, all transgender and non-binary people have access to quality gender affirming health and surgical care.

With extraordinary access, this feature-length documentary takes an intimate look at how one doctor's work impacts the lives of his patients as well as how his journey from renowned plastic surgeon to pioneering gender-affirming surgeon has led to his own transformation.

Directed by Tania Cypriano

NR | U.S. | 2019 | 92min

Tickets available at this link starting December 1

More Film Info

BORN TO BE gives voice to those who refuse to conform to gender norms and stereotypes. The film addresses the nuances and complexities of gender, exploring key issues around the breadth of gender identity and expression among human beings.

Through the gender affirming surgeries of Dr. Ting's patients, we witness the joys and torments that come with this brand-new territory—even as we see the limitations of Dr. Ting's renowned surgical skills, and his commitment to his new field being tested.

For transgender and non-binary people, gender affirming surgeries including genital reconstruction surgeries are effective and medically necessary (references include the World Professional Association for Transgender Health “Standards of Care for the Health of Transsexual, Transgender, and Gender Nonconforming People” 2012, the Endocrine Society “Clinical Practice Guideline for Endocrine Treatment of Gender Dysphoric/Gender-Incongruent Persons” 2017, and New England Journal review “Care of Transgender Persons” 2019).

 

"Deeply moving and humane. Born to Be distinguishes itself with its sensitive, humane portrait of the dedicated Dr. Ting, his hard-working staff (some of whom are transgender themselves), and his diverse patients who yearn merely to live in a body that reflects their inner identity." -- Frank Scheck, Hollywood Reporter

"Heartbreaking, uplifting... a must-see." -- Norman Gidney, Film Threat

"A lively and moving documentary about the first major American hospital center for transgender surgery shows us what the future will look like. Moving and fascinatingly forward-looking. What the Mount Sinai center represents is a paradigm shift, if not a revolution." -- Owen Gleiberman, Variety

"Intimate and highly compelling... poignant and finely tuned. Tania Cypriano treats her tireless subject with utmost sensitivity. With its cinematic eye, compelling subjects, and elegant awareness of the issues, Born to Be was conceived just in time." -- Jude Dry, Indiewire

"Enlightening. The film has an exuberantly infectious life to it… We’re watching history be made with a sympathetic and respectful eye to everything that entails." -- Jared Mobarak, The Film Stage

Show Dates & Times:

12/1/20 - Tuesday

(All day),

12/2/20 - Wednesday

(All day),

12/3/20 - Thursday

(All day),

12/4/20 - Friday

(All day),

12/5/20 - Saturday

(All day),

12/6/20 - Sunday

(All day),

12/7/20 - Monday

(All day),

12/8/20 - Tuesday

(All day),

12/9/20 - Wednesday

(All day),

12/10/20 - Thursday

(All day),

12/11/20 - Friday

(All day),

12/12/20 - Saturday

(All day),

12/13/20 - Sunday

(All day),

12/14/20 - Monday

(All day),

12/15/20 - Tuesday

(All day),

12/16/20 - Wednesday

(All day),

12/17/20 - Thursday

(All day),

12/18/20 - Friday

(All day),

12/19/20 - Saturday

(All day),

12/20/20 - Sunday

(All day),

12/21/20 - Monday

(All day),

12/22/20 - Tuesday

(All day),

12/23/20 - Wednesday

(All day),

12/24/20 - Thursday

(All day),

12/25/20 - Friday

(All day),

12/26/20 - Saturday

(All day),

12/27/20 - Sunday

(All day),

12/28/20 - Monday

(All day),

12/29/20 - Tuesday

(All day),

12/30/20 - Wednesday

(All day),

12/31/20 - Thursday

(All day),
Category:
§
Developed by Whitelancer Web Development | www.whitelancer.com