COUP 53

Streaming Cinema

The explosive documentary that was forced offline for 4 months is back!

Now qualified for the OSCAR: Best Documentary Feature
Also qualifed for the BAFTA: Outstanding Debut, Oustanding British Film, Editing, Documentary, Cinematography, Original Score

While making a documentary about the Anglo-American coup in Iran in 1953, Iranian director Taghi Amirani and editor Walter Murch (Apocalypse Now, The Conversation, The English Patient) discover extraordinary never seen before archive material hidden for decades. The 16mm footage and documents not only allow the filmmakers to tell the story of the overthrow of the Iranian government in unprecedented detail, but also lead to explosive revelations about dark secrets buried for 67 years. What begins as a history documentary about 4 days in August 1953 turns into a live investigation, taking the filmmakers into uncharted cinematic waters.

The roots of Iran's volatile relationship with Britain and America has never been so forensically and dramatically exposed.

Directed by Taghi Amirani 

NR | UK/Iran/USA | 2019 | 1h 59min

In English, Persian, Italian, French, with English subtitles

The film will be followed by a special Q&A with BAFTA winning actor RALPH FIENNES, Oscar and BAFTA winning editor WALTER MURCH, and director TAGHI AMIRANI. The panel is presented by Oscar winning director MICHAEL MOORE.

Tickets: $12

 Tickets available at this link starting Jan. 1 

Visit the Eventive HELP PAGE for questions about streaming or device compatability 

 

“This is big. This is going to be big!”
- Werner Herzog
 
 
"remarkable"
"passionate and fearless"
"will enthrall documentary and history geeks"
"jaw dropping revelations"
“has the air of something that grew from an impudent home movie into a magnum opus"
- Todd McCarthy, Hollywood Reporter
 
 
“as compelling as a John Le Carré novel or a Costa-Gavras classic”
- Allen Hunter, Screen Daily
 
 
"a work of art and a masterpiece of political intervention"
“a thriller that had me on the edge of my seat”
"beyond extraordinary"
- Ariel Dorfman
 
"a superb work of journalism and research"
- Vancouver Observer
 
 “Amazing. Beautifully done. Clever use of archive. Unique.”
- Oliver Stone
 
"an astonishing feat of film-making"
- London Metro
 
"masterful storytelling makes this a taut and thrilling watch"
“captivating tour-de-force”
- Elhum Shakerifar, BFI London Film Festival
 
“Nail-bitingly suspenseful”
“Plays like a thriller on the big screen”
- Carol Nahra, International Documentary Association
 

 

 

 

Show Dates & Times:

1/1/21 - Friday

(All day),

1/2/21 - Saturday

(All day),

1/3/21 - Sunday

(All day),

1/4/21 - Monday

(All day),

1/5/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

1/6/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

1/7/21 - Thursday

(All day),

1/8/21 - Friday

(All day),

1/9/21 - Saturday

(All day),

1/10/21 - Sunday

(All day),

1/11/21 - Monday

(All day),

1/12/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

1/13/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

1/14/21 - Thursday

(All day),

1/15/21 - Friday

(All day),

1/16/21 - Saturday

(All day),

1/17/21 - Sunday

(All day),

1/18/21 - Monday

(All day),

1/19/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

1/20/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

1/21/21 - Thursday

(All day),

1/22/21 - Friday

(All day),

1/23/21 - Saturday

(All day),

1/24/21 - Sunday

(All day),

1/25/21 - Monday

(All day),

1/26/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

1/27/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

1/28/21 - Thursday

(All day),

1/29/21 - Friday

(All day),

1/30/21 - Saturday

(All day),

1/31/21 - Sunday

(All day),
Category:
§
Developed by Whitelancer Web Development | www.whitelancer.com