MALNI - Towards the Ocean, Towards the Shore

Streaming Cinema

A poetic debut feature circling the origin of the death myth from the Chinookan people in the Pacific Northwest, małni – towards the ocean, towards the shore follows two people as they wander through their surrounding nature, the spirit world, and something much deeper inside. At its center are Sweetwater Sahme and Jordan Mercier, who take separate paths contemplating their afterlife, rebirth, and death. Probing questions about humanity’s place on earth and other worlds, Sky Hopkina’s film will have audiences thinking (and dreaming) about it long after.

Directed by Sky Hopinka

Starring Jordan Mercier, Sweetwater Sahme

NR | USA | 2020 | 80 min

Tickets: $12

 Get Tickets 

 

“Rapturous. Feels like a richly woven ghost story.”
— Ela Bittencourt, Hyperallergic

“Stunning. Nothing short of astonishing. One of the most awe-inspiring films I saw.”
— Vikram Murthi, Rogerebert.com

“Mr. Hopinka is a member of the Ho-Chunk Nation and descended from the Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians. His work, which he aptly calls “ethnopoetic,” is built on that biographical data, but expands outward from it…. It rivals in visual and linguistic beauty any new art I’ve seen in some time.” 

– Holland Cotter, The New York Times

Show Dates & Times:

4/9/21 - Friday

(All day),

4/10/21 - Saturday

(All day),

4/11/21 - Sunday

(All day),

4/12/21 - Monday

(All day),

4/13/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

4/14/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

4/15/21 - Thursday

(All day),

4/16/21 - Friday

(All day),

4/17/21 - Saturday

(All day),

4/18/21 - Sunday

(All day),

4/19/21 - Monday

(All day),

4/20/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

4/21/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

4/22/21 - Thursday

(All day),

4/23/21 - Friday

(All day),

4/24/21 - Saturday

(All day),

4/25/21 - Sunday

(All day),

4/26/21 - Monday

(All day),

4/27/21 - Tuesday

(All day),

4/28/21 - Wednesday

(All day),

4/29/21 - Thursday

(All day),

4/30/21 - Friday

(All day),
Category:
§
Developed by Whitelancer Web Development | www.whitelancer.com